Independent Online

Friday, May 27, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Durban suburbs hits by water restrictions as shaft pump challenges persist

Picture Cindy Waxa/ANA

Picture Cindy Waxa/ANA

Published Nov 26, 2021


Durban - Several areas across Durban are without water. City spokesperson, Msawakhe Mayisela, said the interruption is due to an on-going challenge of shaft pump failure from Umgeni Water’s Durban Heights Water Treatment Works, which has spread its strain on the water supply to the central areas of the city, including, but not limited to, Shallcross, Chatsworth and Klaarwater.

He said this has demanded immediate restrictions to these areas to allow central reservoirs to build up and prevent the system from total collapse.

Story continues below Advertisement

For this reason, areas in the central region and some areas in the south and western regions will experience shortage of water supply between 8pm to 3am commencing on Friday.

"The repairs of the pumps are currently under way and are expected to be completed in the next four weeks. Umgeni Water technicians are working untiringly to reduce this period,“ he said.

The following reservoirs and areas will experience water shortage during this process:

Northdene 1, 2, 3 Reservoir: Malvern, Escombe, Northdene Industrial Park, Hillary, Queensburgh, Burlington, Queensmead Industrial Park, Mount Vernon, Memorial Park.

Shallcross Reservoir: Shallcross, Burlington Heights, Chiltern Heights.

Klaarwater Reservoir and H/L: Klaarwater, Crossmoor, Shallcross.

Story continues below Advertisement

Firwood 1, 2 Reservoir and the H/L: Clover Dairies, Escombe, Firwood, Northdene, Moseley Park

Ridley Park Reservoir: Hillary, Chatsworth Main Rd, Sarnia.

Hairnager Reservoir: Hairnager.

Story continues below Advertisement

Westcliffe Reservoir: Bayview, Havenside, Yellowwood Park.

Chatsworth 2 Reservoir: Woodhurst, Westcliffe, Bayview, Silverglen.

Chatsworth 3 Reservoir: Croftdene, Silverglen, Arena Park.

Story continues below Advertisement

Chatsworth 1 Reservoir: Woodhurst, Westcliffe, Havenside, Silverglen, Mobeni Heights.

Chatsworth 4 Reservoir: Welbedacht, Montford, Risecliff, Arena Park, Moorton, Crossmoor.

Fairwood Reservoir: Fairwood area.

Water tankers have been mobilised to respond to affected areas.

For more information regarding water supply, members of the public can contact the call centre on 080 131 3013, the toll-free number on 080 311 1111 or use the eThekwini Water and Sanitation WhatsApp number on 073 1483 477.

Related Topics:

City of Ethekwini